Tuesday, 21 April 2020

Review: Bridge to Terabithia: A Harper Classic

Bridge to Terabithia: A Harper Classic Bridge to Terabithia: A Harper Classic by Katherine Paterson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I read this for Middle Grade March. 
I’d never heard of this one before it was recommended to me.
It’s a very sad poignant story. Grief.

It’s magical and mystical in parts.

The ending caught me off guard. Yes, there was tears.



View all my reviews

Friday, 17 April 2020

The Cotton Spinner by Libby Ashworth

Publishing

Are you looking to escape to another time and place? Arrow is proud to be publishing a new saga series, THE MILL TOWN LASSES, by Libby Ashworth. Set in Blackburn during the Industrial Revolution, Book One: The Cotton Spinner is the perfect escapist read for fans of Catherine Cookson and Val Wood. 
The author Libby Ashworth was inspired to write this series when she learned about the lives of her great, great, great, great grandparents who worked in the mills. 




Libby Ashworth

The Cotton Spinner
Published by Arrow
16th April 2020 | Paperback | £6.99

The first in a new series!

Get your copy 

Wednesday, 15 April 2020

Review: Mr Nice

Mr Nice Mr Nice by John Nicholl
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m always eager to read John Nicholl’s book as I know I’m in for a good read. A thriller that holds such sinister and creepy characters that you just can’t put the book down.

If it wasn’t for the pandemic and my anxiety over adjusting I’d have read this book by now. And my caring role to hubby has taken some time to help him adjust too.

I’ve got my reading mojo back and just devoured this thriller.

You get to know who is doing what very early on, but, not why. The craziness of this perpetrator was so uncouth it was hypnotic I couldn’t take my eyes away from the pages as I eagerly awaited by bated breath what was what.

The skill and talent that this author has to entice my reading juices is beyond no limits.
I love how he pushes the circumference using very complicated complex villains.

Mr Nice is aptly named. You will you see why once you’ve read this.

If you live thrillers with depth, character driven, sinister, atmospheric then you will love this.



View all my reviews

Monday, 13 April 2020

Review: Deadly Secrets

Deadly Secrets Deadly Secrets by Robert Bryndza
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m telling you know 𝖙𝖍𝖎𝖘 is one of the best plots in this series. An absolute stunner. Not just the subject matter but the plot, the twists and my brain in overdrive. 

Yes I’m late to the table reading Detective Erika Foster series. But I’m so glad I could binge with it having all of the series to hand.

#bustingmybacklist

View all my reviews

Review: Cold Blood

Cold Blood Cold Blood by Robert Bryndza
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

Another GREAT read.

I’m busting my backlist now that I’ve got my reading mojo back! And this series is one I’ve wanted to read in it’s entirety forever. And I’ve certainly got the time now.

Another case. Another growth spurt in the character of Erika.

Loved it
 

View all my reviews

Review: Last Breath

Last Breath Last Breath by Robert Bryndza
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I feel the series has gone from strength to strength. Erica was a strong character in this series right from the start, she’s good at what she does. Not always doing things by the book but certainly getting the job done.
She’s passionate and rides on steam.

This case isn’t hers. She happens upon it but, she wants to be part of it.

I loved how the author not only developed the plot but also the regular characters.
 

View all my reviews

Review: The Girls In The Water

The Girls In The Water The Girls In The Water by Victoria Jenkins
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I found this to be an OK read. It had my interest enough and kept my attention.

A girls body found in the water, obviously been murdered and of course a need to find who dunnit. Then a secound body is found in the same way.

Serial killer on the loose.

There’s much more to it than this. Maybe I’m a bit over this kind of read as it’s blurring into one another? But I’m still going to press on to book 2.

I want to experience the development of characters.


View all my reviews

Sunday, 5 April 2020

Review: Strangers

Strangers Strangers by C.L. Taylor
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

An absolutely amazing and intense thriller.

Three main characters with huge parts are cast within this story.
Ursula, Gareth and Alice.

Each chapter is dedicated to each person.

Ursula was a complex character and in some ways I kind of understood her and grew towards her. 
She was definitely a character I didn’t warm to straight away. 

What I especially found thrilling was the way most chapters ended on a “cliffhanger” not sure if that was the purpose of the author but......I loved it! And because the next chapter belonged to someone else I was waiting eagerly to pick up the thread from that previous chapter. It made the book speed by for me.

Snappy active chapters is something I love.

This definitely is a character driven thriller which kept me questioning things.

Based around my home town (Bristol UK) I was able to envision areas that were very familiar to me. Added bonus!

Strangers is an absorbing read. 

This is an author I fall back on, and since this world we live in isn’t free and normal my mind and anxiety has been all over the place, I was thankful that I had this book on my pile to read. I knew I could get my head into the zone for this one as I’m used to this authors writing. 

If you like suspense, thrillers, character driven books. I think you’d enjoy this one

View all my reviews